Congratulations to our Spring M.S. and Ph.D. recipients

Grad Student Celebration

Several students in the UF College of Veterinary Medicine’s graduate studies program received their degrees virtually April 30, with the coronavirus pandemic having moved the traditional commencement ceremonies to online formats.

The above video features a congratulations message and greeting from the college’s associate dean for research and graduate studies, Dr. David Pascual, and went live at 7 p.m. — the same time the new graduate degree recipients would traditionally be gathered in person to receive their M.S. and D.V.M. degrees.

The college’s interim dean, Dr. Dana Zimmel, congratulated the college’s new degree recipients as well, and said she wished she could do so in person.

“We are so proud of the accomplishments of these outstanding scholars,” Zimmel said. “This is such a talented group of individuals, all of whom have worked so hard to get where they are today. I can’t wait to see the exciting ways they will go forward in their careers to advance biomedical research for the betterment of animal, human and environmental health.”

Here are new graduate degree recipients:

Ph.D. degree:

  • Erika Schwarz (mentored by Dr. Maureen Long)
  • Rola Zeidan (mentored by Dr. Christopher Vulpe)
  • Matthew (Nick) Musselwhite (clearing prior for summer, mentored by Dr. Don Bolser)

Master of Science degree (thesis-based):

  • Pacharapong Khrongsee (mentored by Dr. Apachai Tuanyok)
  • Mia Livaccari (mentored by Dr. Carlos Souza)
  • Anhika Putra (mentored by Dr. Domenico Santoro)

Master of Science degree (non-thesis, distance education):

Shelter Medicine
(Program coordinator, Dr. Jason Byrd)

  • Alison Kleibor
  • Bret Shelhorse
  • Julia Troncoso

Veterinary Forensic Sciences
(Program coordinator, Dr. Jason Byrd)

  • Ashley Scott
  • Caitlin Rolle
  • Mary Manspeaker
  • Cara Vogel
  • Katlyn Gupton
  • Savanna Gephard
  • Lana Fagman

Forensic Toxicology
(Program coordinator, Dr. Ian Tebbett)

  • Darrell Jeffries
  • Karlie Marshall
  • Meagan Wisniewski
  • Kelcie Marie Prodger